Lime & Coconut Cake

Slightly unpopular opinion: I don’t like summer. To be more clear, I do not like temperatures above 23°C.  I am not built for it and I cannot handle it. Also, I am as pale as snow so I burn within 15 minutes without some proper sun protection. Personally, I think that the terms “good” and “bad” weather are very subjective.

But! I do like desserts that are reminiscent of summer. Flavours that conjure up a care-free feeling, as if you’re on some tropical island with nothing to worry about. Yes, those are some bold claims for a dessert, I know. Luckily, it is a Delia Smith recipe so you already know it will be good.

I have some fond memories of Delia Smith and watching her cooking shows on the BBC. I have always seen her as an example, someone who know so much about cooking and baking. She may not be as smooth and sultry as Nigella Lawson but she is a British institution.

Onto the main star of the show: lime & coconut cake. I slightly adapted the recipe so that it contains more lime flavour. Usually I have a bit of an issue with the texture of grated coconut but I am happy to report that it did not bother me as much in this cake. The original recipe also called for coconut milk powder which I was not able to obtain on such short notice so I replaced it with coconut milk. Very important: the coconut milk did not screw up the texture of the cake at all.

 

 

Ingredients for the cake:

2 limes (zest and juice)
50g dried, grated coconut
115g self-raising flour (115g flour + 1tsp baking powder)
115g cane sugar
115g softened butter
2 large eggs
2 tbsp coconut milk

Ingredients for the icing:

1 lime (zest and juice)
75g – 95g powdered sugar
2 tbsp coconut milk

Directions

  1. Put the grated coconut in a bowl and add the juice and zest of the two limes. Mix well and let sit for at least an hour.
  2. Preheat the oven to 170°C and grease an 18cm cake tin.
  3. Mix the butter, sugar, eggs and coconut milk together. Sieve the flour (and baking powder) before you add it. Incorporate the flour well.
  4. Fold in the soaked coconut.
  5. Pour the batter into the cake tin and bake for about 25 min. It’s ready when a toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Put a sheet of baking parchment on top of a wire rack before putting the cake on there to cool. Otherwise, the cake will stick to your wire rack.
  7. Prepare the icing: Mix the juice and zest of the lime. Add the coconut milk. Then add powdered sugar until you have the right consistency (rather thick but still a little bit runny).
  8. When the cake is cooled, pour the icing on top and let it dribble a little bit over the side of the cake. Let the icing set before you cut the cake.
  9. Enjoy!

-Elisa

Leave a Reply

